wedding memories: the ceremony

Wedding memories return! Reminiscing today about our beautiful ceremony. When we finished getting ready in our beautiful hotel suites, we were picked up by the limo. The walk from the suite to the limo was so exciting…as a little girl I can remember watching in awe when a bride was nearby. Admiring her dress and all her little details and thinking how lucky she must feel to be going to marry the love of her life. I remember realizing with amazement that today, I was that bride! Guests and strangers alike stopped to see the procession. I had to pinch myself a couple times! The limousine retrieved us, first the ladies, then the gents to ensure a staggered arrival time.  Danny and I decided very early on that we wanted to be very traditional and wait to see each other until I walked down the aisle. Although I was dying to see him all day, I was so happy we made that decision; it made the big moment so incredibly special..

My sweet girls! They were wrapped up in the layers of my dress to protect it from the snowy ground. I added an ivory J.Crew coat and Ralph Lauren upper-length gloves to my gown for the drive down heart-lined Michigan Avenue.

Our church was breathtaking. So grand and elegant..

Once we arrived, the ladies and gentlemen once again had separate quarters before the ceremony began. I remember having a hard time not smiling as I sat with my family and bridesmaids surrounding me. One of my favorite memories was when our wonderful florist arrived and presented us with our gorgeous red bouquets. They were absolutely perfect, completed the moment and all of the sudden I was totally and incredibly ready.

When the time had come, we made the trip from our little prep room to the sanctuary. I had so many butterflies! And for the first time I felt teary, thinking about this incredible moment in my life. My Dad was by my side and my girls were singing me songs to help keep my feet on the ground. One by one they went, Canon in D echoing, as my Dad and I stayed hidden behind the antique screen. Then the moment finally arrived and as the doors opened and I heard the notes of the Bridal Chorus on the organ. I remember feeling an elated rush of goosebumps and grabbing my Dad’s hand so tight.

Danny’s face when we reached the alter was unforgettable. He was absolutely swept up; on the verge of tears but smiling so big. His emotion made me grab his hand and smile equally as big for the entire ceremony.

And my cheeks didn’t even hurt.

The ceremony itself was so special, including readings by our siblings and a beautiful and very personal sermon delivered by my uncle. Early on during ceremony planning, we became intent on sharing a reading or prayer of our own. When we stumbled upon Robert Louis Stevenson’s “Wedding Prayer” we knew it was right. It allowed us to express our gratitude for the love, generosity and many blessings that allowed us to be there that day, and for the wonderful people around us, loving and supporting our every step.

Lord, behold our family here assembled.
We thank you for this place in which we dwell,
for the love that unites us,
for the peace accorded us this day,
for the hope with which we expect the morrow,
for the health, the work, the food,
and the bright skies that make our lives delightful;
for our friends in all parts of the earth.
Amen

The ceremony could not have been more special to us. Although it was a bit of a blur, I remember so clearly the most important things: the sound of the organ, the feel of my Dad’s solid hand, the incredible people surrounding us, the way he looked and the ecstasy I felt.

Wedding photos by Tina Thomure of Artisan Events

4 Comments

Filed under wedding!

4 responses to “wedding memories: the ceremony

  1. Mur

    you just transported me back to that incredible day. SUCH a PERFECT day! 🙂

  2. E

    I wish we could do it again. It was perfection – those picture but the biggest smile on my face 🙂

  3. sue

    i love all your entries but this one most of all!!! 🙂

  4. Jill

    What they said 🙂

Leave a comment