enchanted wedding, part four

I already gushed about the lovely Lisa Barlow, but I decided to do a post specifically about the magic she created for our wedding. I heard about Lisa through a friend at work and when we met for the first time I knew she would capture the vision perfectly. We started focused solely on the Save the Date and invitation suite, but I ended up using Lisa more like a wedding designer – she either created or inspired many of the little details.

Since we were getting married on Valentine’s weekend, I knew I wanted our day to be inspired by and simply exude L.O.V.E. Lisa was able to help me tease out just how much was the right amount. It was so fun to run this design project like I do every day at work, complete with feedback, rounds of revision and production.

In the Save the Date design phase, Lisa helped me see a range of vintage Valentine-inspired cards. She showed me different patterns, layouts and styles that helped me arrive on the perfect balance and still allowed my preppy, classic style to shine through.

Another bit of genius that you can see above in the winning Save the Date design (far left) is our custom monogram. Though I didn’t know at the time, establishing a design detail like this that would carry through as a constant, holding the many pieces together was so incredibly smart. The monogram detail, black & white stripes, vintage red rose paper liner, classic love stamps and elegant calligraphy all combined to create our gorgeous suite of stationary.

The vision Lisa helped me build began to inform other details, like a beautiful custom seating chart, ceremony programs and table cards. Even the black & white striped fondant bow that wrapped around our wedding cake.

We decided to bring the day back to St. Valentine and give each guest a vintage Valentine and flower at their place setting, with a hand-written note from Danny and I. Lisa worked with Zazzle to source ten unique Valentines so each guest at a table would get a unique card.

The day was, of course, filled with Valentine’s L.O.V.E just like we hoped thanks to our wonderful family and friends. Every moment was enhanced by the beauty of the details, thanks in large part to Lisa.

You can find Lisa Barlow Design here. All detail photographs above taken by the talented Artisan Events. Calligraphy created by Nicole Black of The Left Handed Calligrapher. Find Nicole here.

Leave a comment

Filed under wedding!

Leave a Reply

