ballet joie

I looove ballet. When I was a little girl, I watched the Nutcracker year after year, awestruck by the flawless grace and fancy costume design. I loved the shiny satin Pointe shoes and wanted SO badly to be a ballerina. My gracious momma signed me up for classes and we very quickly made the determination that I was better suited for shin guards on the soccer field than leotards on stage. I wasn’t heartbroken in the least! But the ballerina poster in my bedroom remained, and I’ve had a love for the art ever since. I got to revisit the ballerina inside me again during college, when I got the chance to take a class with a famous French instructor for a semester. At this stage in my life, it seemed I had found a bit more poise and coordination to boot. I fell back in love and found a hobby that I hope will endure for many years to come. I’ve scoped out an open class downtown that I plan to join beginning next week. I hope I remember how to eleve and rond de jambe!

I recently discovered the Ballerina Project, a mission that grew from the idea of New York City as a magnet for creativity. The project is a collection of photographs, each a collaborative work of dance, fashion design and photography played out against the great city’s landscape. A couple of my recent favorites above…enough to make a ballet admirer out of anyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under daily joy

Leave a Reply

